You are here

  • Campus Community

2016 election to AAAS

Dear University of Maryland community:

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences—one of the oldest and most distinguished learned societies in the nation—today announced the election of two members of our community to its class of 2016: Chris Jarzynski, Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Mary Ann Rankin, Professor of Biology and Senior Vice President and Provost.

Please join me in congratulating them.  This is a well-merited recognition of their accomplishments that also reflects the academic excellence and reputation of the University of Maryland.


Wallace D. Loh