You are here

  • Campus Community
  • Research
  • Academic Vision

National Academy of Sciences

Dear University of Maryland community:

Yesterday, the National Academy of Sciences elected its newest class of members, including University of Maryland physics professor Christopher Monroe. This is one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive. He joins only 84 new members and 21 foreign associates elected in 2016.

Monroe is a Distinguished University Professor, the Bice Zorn Professor of Physics, and a fellow of the Joint Quantum Institute and the Joint Center for Quantum Information and Computer Science. He is a scientific leader in the pursuit of quantum computing and an outstanding teacher. His achievements make all of us very proud and bring distinction to this institution.

Please join me in congratulating him on this well-deserved honor.  


Wallace D. Loh