The President’s Medal

You are here

Criteria: This award is the highest honor the university community can bestow. The recipient of this award will be a member of the community with an exemplary record of sustained service and acknowledged contribution to the quality of life on the campus. The candidate's career should be distinguished by a dedication to the fulfillment of the campus' goals and mission, by professional accomplishments, and by campus service. Particular emphasis will be placed on contributions that have had a wide-ranging and enhancing influence on the entire university community.

Eligibility: Any current full-time member of the campus community may be nominated for the President's Medal. A nominee must have at least ten years of full-time employment on the campus (in one or more capacities).

Nomination Materials:

Nominations can be submitted electronically by completing the information using this link: President's Medal


Nomination materials can be printed and mailed to:

President's Award Committee
c/o Office of the President
1128 Main Administration Building
University of Maryland
College Park, MD  20742
or by email to

Printed nomination materials should include:

  1. A coversheet listing the name of the nominee, the award for which the individual is being nominated, and the name of the nominator.
  2. A nomination letter clearly indicating why this individual should be so honored and how the individual exemplifies the criteria for this award.
  3. A resume, curriculum vitae, or brief biographical sketch of the nominee
  4. At least two, but no more than three, seconding letters of nomination from outside the primary unit in which the individual is employed may accompany the nomination or may be sent under separate cover

Past Winners

Linda Clement
Student Affairs

Darryll Pines
A. James Clark School of Engineering

Jerry L. Lewis
Office of Undergraduate Studies

S. James Gates Jr.
Department of Physics

Donna B. Hamilton
Division of Academic Affairs and Department of English

Ann G. Wylie
Department of Geology

James A. Yorke
Departments of Mathematics and Physics, and Institute for Physical Science and Technology

Robert S. Gold
Professor and Former Dean, School of Public Health

Charles F. Wellford
Professor, Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice

Herb Rabin
Professor, Senior Associate Dean and Director
Maryland Technology Enterprise Institute

Jordan A. Goodman
Professor, Department of Physics

Susan L. Bayly, Esq.
General Counsel
President's Office of General Counsel

Victor Korenman
Associate Provost for Academic Planning and Programs (Retired)
Professor Emeritus of Physics

William L. Fourney
Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering

Gerald R. Miller
Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Dr. George E. Dieter
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering and Glenn L. Martin Institute Professor of Engineering

Professor Ralph D. Bennett, Jr.
School of Architecture

Dr. Charles F. Sturtz
Retired Vice President for Administrative Affairs
Special Assistant to the President for Real Estate Development

Dr. Irwin L. Goldstein
Dean, College of Behavioral and Social Sciences

Dr. William L. Thomas, Jr.
Vice President for Student Affairs

Dr. Ira Berlin
Distinguished University Professor, Department of History

Dr. Marie Smith Davidson
Chief of Staff, Office of the President

Dr. Rudolph P. Lamone
Professor, Robert H. Smith School of Business

Dr. David Driskell
Professor, Department of Art

Dr. Robert L. Gluckstern
Professor, Department of Physics

Dr. Jack Minker
Professor, Department of Computer Science

No President's Medal awarded

Dr. George H. Callcott
Professor, Department of History

Dr. Margaret W. Bridwell
Director, University Health Center

Dr. Eugenie Clark
Professor Emerita, Department of Zoology

Dr. Don C. Piper
Professor, Department of Government and Politics

Dr. Dudley Dillard (posthumously)
Professor Emeritus and Former Chair, Department of Economics

Dr. Jacob K. Goldhaber
Acting Dean, Graduate Studies and Research and Professor of Mathematics

Dr. Graciela Nemes
Professor Emerita, Department of Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literatures

Dr. J. Robert Dorfman
Dean, College of Computer, Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Dr. Thomas M. Magoon
Director of the Counseling Center and Professor of Education and Psychology

Dr. Richard H. Jaquith
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

Dr. Donald Maley
Professor Emeritus and Former Chair, Department of Industrial, Technological and Occupational Education

Dr. Paul P. Traver
Professor, Department of Music and Director of the University of Maryland Chorus

Faculty and Staff Convocation

  • 2016