Office of the President
Campus Messages

Supporting Our Transgender and Nonbinary Terps

Letter from President Darryll J. Pines

By Darryll J. Pines

Dear Campus Community,

We have witnessed increasing incidences of transgender people publically harassed and ridiculed, and there has been an avalanche of anti-transgender legislation proposed in dozens of states. A recent count indicates that there are at least 50 of these bills in 36 different states, most of them focusing on healthcare and sports. While none of these bills have been proposed in Maryland, this spate of proposed anti-transgender legislation has created stress and a climate of fear among our transgender and nonbinary communities.

We are committed to increasing our support for our transgender and nonbinary populations and we oppose legislation or any other actions that would limit or diminish that support. In particular, we are against any action that would deny healthcare to transgender individuals or limit their participation in sports. For healthcare and sports, the University of Maryland shows support in several policies and programs.

Our Counseling Center and University Health Center are here, prepared, and supportive of transgender and nonbinary Terps experiencing stress or fear. And if there are any issues of bias or discrimination, reach out to our Bias Incident Support Services (BISS) or Office of Civil Rights and Sexual Misconduct (OCRSM). Also, the LGBT Equity Center maintains a website focused on UMD’s efforts for greater inclusion of transgender and nonbinary Terps. Especially note for training and learning, good practices for trans inclusion, and trans resources and policies.

We hold our transgender and nonbinary Terps as valued members of the University of Maryland. We know we must do more and our trajectory is to advance policies, practices, procedures, and resources for our transgender and nonbinary communities.


Darryll J. Pines

Darryll J. Pines
President, University of Maryland

Georgina Dodge Signature

Georgina Dodge

Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion

Patty Perillo Signature

Patty Perillo

Vice President for Student Affairs

Damon Evans Signature

Damon Evans

Director of Athletics