Office of the President


The President's Commission on AI consists of representatives from diverse academic disciplines, administrative units, and the university senate. Members bring expertise in AI, ethics, law, education, research, information technology, administrative operations and relevant fields to ensure a comprehensive and inclusive examination of AI-related matters as it impacts higher education and more specifically the University of Maryland.


  • Jen Golbeck (INFO), Professor, Faculty Director MPS Data Journalism
  • Axel Persaud (DIT), Assistant Vice President of Enterprise Engineering


  1. Andrew Ristvey (AGNR-UME), Principal Agent Wye UM Extension
  2. Chester Harvey (ARCH), Director of NCSG Transportation Policy Research Group
  3. Craig Kier (ARHU), Director of Arts 4 ALL, Associate Professor, Voice and Opera
  4. Frauke Kreuter (BSOS), Professor and Co-Director of SODA and member of JPSM
  5. Ruibo Han (BSOS), Senior Lecturer, MPS GEOINT Program, and CGIS Director of Programs
  6. Balaji Padmanabhan (BUSI), Smith School professor of Information Systems
  7. Wendy Moe (BUSI), Dean’s Professor of Marketing
  8. Rance Cleaveland (CMNS), Professor of Computer Science and Associate Dean for Research
  9. Don Bolger (EDUC), Director of MILE, Associate Professor, Education and Development
  10. Min Wu (ENGR), Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  11. James Zahniser (ENGR), Assistant Dean, Strategic Operations and IT
  12. Katie Shilton (INFO), Associate Professor and Program Co-Director of BS in SDS
  13. Sheena Erete (INFO): Associate Professor
  14. Naeemul Hassan (JOUR), Assistant professor at the Phillip Merrill College of Journalism/I-School
  15. Charles Harry (PLCY), Assoc. Research Professor; Director, GoTech
  16. Quynh Nguyen (SPHL), Associate Professor, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
  17. Michele Eastman (PRES), Assistant President and Chief of Staff
  18. Jen Gartner (VPGC), Deputy General Counsel
  19. Courtney Brown (VPAS), Senor Director, Office of Administrative Services
  20. Marcio Oliveira (DIT/PROVOST), Assistant Vice President, Academic Technology and Innovation
  21. Augustus Sam (ICA), Director of Information Technology, Intercollegiate Athletics
  22. Chris Carroll (VPMC), Director of Editorial Strategies, Office Marketing and Communications
  23. Kevin Pitt (VPSA), Interim Director, Fraternity and Sorority Life, Division of Student Affairs
  24. Stephen Dowdy (VPR), Director of Research Information Systems & Integration
  25. Alamir Mansour (VPUR), Director of Business Applications, University Relations
  26. Leslie Krafft (ODI), Director of TerrapinSTRONG
  27. Aiden Wechsler (BSOS), undergraduate student Senator
  28. Alexandra DeBus (CMNS) or designee, President, Student Government Association
  29. Autumn Perkey (BSOS) or designee, President, Graduate Student Government

Staff supporting the Commission