Honor Roll 1997-98 | The President’s Commission for LGBT Issues

This past academic year several lesbian, gay, and bisexual (LGB) faculty, staff, and students made significant contributions to scholarship and teaching at the University of Maryland, while several members of the campus community distinguished themselves by enriching life at UM through their work on LGB issues. The President's Commission for Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Issues recognizes them on an Honor Roll that begins with LGB members of the College Park community who gained special recognition this year, continues with individuals who were honored for their contributions to LGB issues, and ends by acknowledging the support of commissioners whose terms expire with the close of the academic year.


Members of the LGB campus community receiving special recognition

  • Ruth E. Fassinger
    Associate Professor, Counseling and Personnel Services 
    Distinguished Scholar-Teacher
  • Sandra C. Greer 
    Professor, Chemical Engineering 
    Distinguished Scholar-Teacher
  • Luke Jensen 
    Lecturer, School of Music 
    Spokesperson for the UniversitySystem of Maryland Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Staff and Faculty Association
  • Hugh McGowan 
    Junior, Health Education 
    William E. Kirwan Award
  • Thomas M. Regan 
    Professor and Associate Dean, Clark School of Engineering 
    Regents' Award for Excellence
  • Jason Schneiderman 
    Senior, English 
    Maryland Medallion
  • LGBA (Lesbian Gay Bisexual Alliance) 
    Student Organization of the Year

Members of the campus community recognized for contributions to LGB issues

  • Meghan Duffy 
    Junior, English 
    Finalist for the William E. Kirwan Award 
    Citation included her work with the Allies Project, the LGBA, and ANGELS (AIDS Needs Greater Education, Love and Support).
  • Arthur M. Eckstein 
    Professor, History 
    Diversity Initiative Faculty Award 
    Citation included his leadership and support for domestic partner benefits as Chair of the Senate Human Relations Committee.
  • William E. Kirwan 
    Defender of Diversity
    Citation included his membership and support on the Board of Regents' Ad Hoc Committee on Domestic Partner Benefits, and his naming of the first President's Commission for Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Issues.
  • Suzanne Marcus 
    Senior, Women's Studies 
    Recognition for addressing sexual orientation as Coordinator of the Women's Circle, as Co-Coordinator of the Annual Woman's LeadershipConference, and as a volunteer for Helping Individual Prostitutes Survive.
  • Shari Scott 
    Junior, Health Education 
    Finalist for the William E. Kirwan Award 
    Citation included her work with ANGELS.

Honors to members of this Commission whose terms expire

  • Javaune M. Adams-Gaston 
    Assistant Dean, Undergraduate Studies
  • Laura Keohane 
    Campus Compliance Officer, Human Relations Programs
  • Patricia L. Mielke 
    Director, Resident Life
  • Jason Schultz 
    Doctoral Candidate, Mathematics
  • Paul L. Taylor, Jr. 
    Assistant Director, Architecture, Engineering and Construction
  • Nadra Wass 
    Senior, German and Electrical Engineering
Back to Top