Skip to main content
Testudo sculpture

Presidential Recognition

The President's Awards Advisory Committee is seeking nominations for awards to be conferred at the Faculty and Staff Convocation in September 2021.

Submitting Nominations

The nomination period has ended.

All nomination packets must be received by May 7, 2021 and can be submitted through one of the following methods:

  1. Online submission form
  2. By email to Cornelia Kennedy
  3. Printed and mailed to:
    President's Awards Advisory Committee
    c/o Office of the President
    1115 Main Administration Building
    University of Maryland
    College Park, MD  20742

If printing and submitting your nomination by mail, the materials should include:

  • A coversheet listing the name of the nominee, the award for which the individual is being nominated, and the name of the nominator.
  • A nomination letter clearly indicating why this individual should be so honored and how the individual exemplifies the criteria for this award.
  • A resume, curriculum vitae, or brief biographical sketch of the nominee (President’s Medal and President’s Distinguished Service Awards-exempt).
  • At least two, but no more than three, seconding letters of nomination from outside the primary unit in which the individual is employed may accompany the nomination or may be sent under separate cover.

Nominations submitted during either of the past two competition years will automatically be reconsidered, though nominators are encouraged to provide updated information. The Committee reserves the right to seek additional information on any nominee. Individuals serving on the Advisory Committee are not eligible for nomination.

Award Categories

For criteria, eligibility, and the required nominating materials for each category, please see:

Additional Information or Questions

Please contact Cornelia Kennedy at

Or write to:

President's Awards Advisory Committee
c/o President's Office
1115 Main Administration Building
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742

Past Winners

President's Medal

Marcio A. Oliveira
Division of Information Technology and Division of Academic Affairs

Distinguished Service Awards

Margaret Gibbs
Division of Student Affairs

Diane Krejsa
Office of General Counsel

Ana Pall-Kane
Division of Information Technology 

Ross Stern
Office of Government Relations

Colleen Wright-Riva
Dining Services

Back to Top