Office of the President

Awards | The President’s Commission for LGBT Issues


The Commission wishes to acknowledge and credit the LGBTSFA (Lesbian,Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Staff and Faculty Association) for initiating and administering the following three major awards that are given on campus each year.

Defender of Diversity

In 1994 the LGBTSFA initiated the Defender of Diversity award. It is given each year to an Ally or Allies who have made distinguished contributions to the LGBT community.

Champion of Our Community

In 1997 the LGBTSFA initiated the Champion of Our Community award. It is given each year to a member of our group who has made distinguished contributions to the LGBT community

Pride Awards

In 1999 the LGBTSFA decided that from time to time individuals deserved recognition for their contributions and commitment to the LGBT community which might not fit within the parameters of other established awards. Pride Awards were established to fit this need. They are intended as flexible, occasional awards to recognize meritorious contributions to the LGBT campus community.