Office of the President

President's Medal


This award is the highest honor the university community can bestow. The recipient of this award will be a member of the community with an exemplary record of sustained service and acknowledged contribution to the quality of life on campus. The candidate's career should be distinguished by a dedication to the fulfillment of the campus' goals and mission, by professional accomplishments and campus service, and must reflect the core values of the University. Particular emphasis will be placed on contributions that have had a wide-ranging and enhancing influence on the entire university community.


Any full-time member of the campus community may be nominated for the President's Medal. A nominee must have at least ten years of full-time employment on the campus (in one or more capacities).

Nomination Materials

All nomination packets must be received by April 15, 2024 and can be submitted through one of the following methods:

  1. Online submission form
  2. Printed and mailed to:President's Awards Advisory Committeec/o Office of the President1115 Main Administration BuildingUniversity of MarylandCollege Park, MD 20742

If printing and submitting your nomination by mail, the materials should include:

  • A coversheet listing the name of the nominee, the award for which the individual is being nominated, and the name of the nominator.
  • A nomination letter clearly indicating why this individual should be so honored and how the individual exemplifies the criteria for this award.
  • A resume, curriculum vitae, or brief biographical sketch of the nominee (President’s Medal and President’s Distinguished Service Awards-exempt).
  • At least two, but no more than three, seconding letters of nomination from outside the primary unit in which the individual is employed may accompany the nomination or may be sent under separate cover.

Past Winners

2023Gloria Aparicio Blackwell

2022Warren L. Kelley

2021Ritu Agarwal

2020 Marcio A. OliveiraDivision of Information Technology and Division of Academic Affairs

2019Linda ClementStudent Affairs

2018Darryll PinesA. James Clark School of Engineering

2017Jerry L. LewisOffice of Undergraduate Studies

2016S. James Gates Jr.Department of Physics

2015Donna B. HamiltonDivision of Academic Affairs and Department of English

2014Ann G. WylieDepartment of Geology

2013James A. YorkeDepartments of Mathematics and Physics, and Institute for Physical Science and Technology

2012Robert S. GoldProfessor and Former Dean, School of Public Health

2011Charles F. WellfordProfessor, Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice

2010Herb RabinProfessor, Senior Associate Dean and DirectorMaryland Technology Enterprise Institute

2009Jordan A. GoodmanProfessor, Department of Physics

2008Susan L. Bayly, Esq.General CounselPresident's Office of General Counsel

2007Victor KorenmanAssociate Provost for Academic Planning and Programs (Retired)Professor Emeritus of Physics

2006William L. FourneyProfessor, Department of Aerospace Engineering

2005Gerald R. MillerProfessor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

2004Dr. George E. DieterProfessor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering and Glenn L. Martin Institute Professor of Engineering

2003Professor Ralph D. Bennett, Jr.School of Architecture

2002Dr. Charles F. SturtzRetired Vice President for Administrative AffairsSpecial Assistant to the President for Real Estate Development

2001Dr. Irwin L. GoldsteinDean, College of Behavioral and Social Sciences

2000Dr. William L. Thomas, Jr.Vice President for Student Affairs

1999Dr. Ira BerlinDistinguished University Professor, Department of History

1998Dr. Marie Smith DavidsonChief of Staff, Office of the President

Dr. Rudolph P. LamoneProfessor, Robert H. Smith School of Business

1997Dr. David DriskellProfessor, Department of Art

1996Dr. Robert L. GlucksternProfessor, Department of Physics

Dr. Jack MinkerProfessor, Department of Computer Science

1995No President's Medal awarded

1994Dr. George H. CallcottProfessor, Department of History

1993Dr. Margaret W. BridwellDirector, University Health Center

Dr. Eugenie ClarkProfessor Emerita, Department of Zoology

1992Dr. Don C. PiperProfessor, Department of Government and Politics

1991Dr. Dudley Dillard (posthumously)Professor Emeritus and Former Chair, Department of Economics

1990Dr. Jacob K. GoldhaberActing Dean, Graduate Studies and Research and Professor of Mathematics

1989Dr. Graciela NemesProfessor Emerita, Department of Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literatures

1988Dr. J. Robert DorfmanDean, College of Computer, Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Dr. Thomas M. MagoonDirector of the Counseling Center and Professor of Education and Psychology

1987Dr. Richard H. JaquithAssistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

1986Dr. Donald MaleyProfessor Emeritus and Former Chair, Department of Industrial, Technological and Occupational Education

1985Dr. Paul P. TraverProfessor, Department of Music and Director of the University of Maryland Chorus