Office of the President

2003 Celebration of Women Award Winners

Dr. Claire Moses, the 2003 Celebration of Women award winner.

Dr. Claire Moses

Dr. Claire Moses is a Professor in the Department of Women's Studies. She received her Ph.D. (1978) and her M.A. (1972) from George Washington University, and her A.B. (1963) from Smith College. Dr. Moses has been with the Department of Women's Studies since 1977 and was Chair from 1993-2003. She is also an affiliate faculty with the Department of History. She is the Editor and Manager of Feminist Studies, a leading journal of Women's Studies scholarship and theory; she has served as President of both the Conference Group on Women's History and Phi Beta Kappa, Gamma (UMD) Chapter; on the Professional Division of the American Historical Association, the Organizing Committee of the Worldwide Organization of Women's Studies, and as U.S. representative to the International Federation for Research in Women's History. From 1998-2000, she chaired the Program Committee for the American Historical Association's Annual Meeting.

Dr. Moses' research focuses on the history of feminist theory and activism and on the history of French women. Her recent publications include U.S. Women in Collective Struggle, ed. With Hartmann (1995); and French Feminism in the Nineteenth Century (1984), winner of the Joan Kelly Prize for the year's best book in woman's history, among many others.