Office of the President

Members | President's Commission on Women's Issues

Commission Members


Chair Emerita:

Ellin K. Scholnick
Faculty Ombudsperson & Professor Emerita
Office of the President
4205 John S. Toll Physics Bldg.
301-405-1901
escholni@umd.edu

Co-Chairs:

Erin McClure (she/her)
Director of Operations & Chief of Staff
Diversity & Equity Officer
School of Public Health
2242M School of Public Health Bldg.
301-405-2437
elmc@umd.edu

Linda Steiner (she/her)
Professor, Philip Merrill College of Journalism
Director, University of Maryland ADVANCE
Editor, Journalism & Communication Monographs
Fellow, International Communication Association
3203 John S. and James L. Knight Hall
301-405-2426
lsteiner@umd.edu

Graduate Assistant

Angie Peterson (they/any)
ajkdp@umd.edu

240-676-6747

Members:

Pamela Abshire
Professor
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
2211 A.V. Williams Building
301-405-6629
pabshire@umd.edu

Gloria Aparicio Blackwell
Director
Office of Community Engagement
0303 Marie Mount Hall
301-405-5643
gaparici@umd.edu

Jocelyn Coates
Graduate Assistant II
Department of Women’s Studies
0111 Taliaferro Hall
301-405-7709
jmcoates@umd.edu

Nicole Coomber
Associate Clinical Professor
Department of Management and Organization
Robert H. Smith Business School
4251 Van Munching Hall
301-405-3908
ncottre@umd.edu

Stephanie Cork
Graduate Assistant
Kinesiology
1225 School of Public Health Building.
240-485-4722
scork@umd.edu

Carly Cottone, Ex Officio
Outreach Liaison
CARE to Stop Violence
0170 Health Center
301-314-2222
ccottone@umd.edu

Dawn Culpepper
Faculty Specialist, ADVANCE
1402 Marie Mount Hall
301-405-4817
dkculpep@umd.edu

Cynthia Edmunds, Ex Officio
Assistant to the President & Interim Chief Diversity Officer
Office of the President
2411 Marie Mount Hall
cedmunds@umd.edu

Evalyn R. Hamilton
Customer Service Coordinator
Counseling Center Accessibility and Diversity Service
0106 Shoemaker Bldg.
301-314-7682
evalyn@umd.edu

Linda LeNoir
Assistant Director
University Career Center
3100 Hornbake Library
301-314-7240
llenoir@umd.edu

Tiara Lowe
Academic Advisor
College of Arts and Humanities
1120 Francis Scott Key Hall
301-405-2113
tllowe@umd.edu

Monica Morrell
Graduate Assistant III
Human Development and Quantitative Methodology
1230 Benjamin Building
301-405-5084
mmorell@umd.edu

Angie Peterson
Graduate Assistant
240-676-6747
ajkdp@umd.edu

Tracy Riggins
Associate Professor
Department of Psychology
2147J Biology-Psychology Bldg.
301-405-5905
riggins@umd.edu

Elisabeth Smela
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Graduate Programs in the College of Engineering Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
2112 Martin Hall
301-405-5265
smela@umd.edu

Ann C. Smith, Ex Officio
Assistant Dean & Ombudsperson
Office of Undergraduate Studies
2110 Marie Mount Hall
301-405-9165
asmith@umd.edu

Paige Smith (on leave 2018-2019)
Director
Women in Engineering
1131 Martin Hall
301-405-3931
pesmith@umd.edu

Brooke Supple
Chief of Staff
Division of Student Affairs
2108M Clarence M. Mitchell Bldg.
301-314-8437
bsupple@umd.edu

Michelle V Watson
Public Relations & Marketing Coordinator
University Career Center & President's Promise
3100 Hornbake Library
301-314-7230
mlopezmu@umd.edu

Timea Webster
Executive Assistant
Office of Diversity and Inclusion
2411 Marie Mount Hall
301-405-6810
twebste1@umd.edu