Sexual Assault Prevention Task Force

You are here


Message from President Loh


Dear University of Maryland community,

A new "Joint President/Senate Task Force on Sexual Assault Prevention" will propose a comprehensive strategy to address this important issue. Its recommendations are due by March 31, 2017.

It follows the "Joint President/Senate Sexual Harassment Task Force" of August 2013 that resulted in a new framework for addressing sexual misconduct (which includes sexual assault) on campus, in compliance with Title IX law and policy guidance as provided by the Department of Education's Office of Civil Rights.

This 2013 joint task force also led to the establishment of the UMD Office of Civil Rights and Sexual Misconduct in March 2014, with 7 full-time staff. OCRSM responds to and investigates complaints, conducts climate surveys, and offers campus-wide training, awareness, and prevention programs.

Because responding to and preventing sexual assault is a University-wide commitment, there are additional professional staff and resources throughout the campus to support that commitment. The Office of Student Conduct is responsible for hearings and disciplinary actions in sexual assault cases. CARE (Campus Advocates Respond and Educate) to Stop Violence, part of the University Health Center, provides support and services to sexual assault survivors as well as advocacy and education.

The University of Maryland Police Department, the UMD General Counsel office, and the Division of Student Affairs all have staff, programs, and expertise related to sexual assault prevention and education.

The Joint President/Senate Task force can bring together all these assets that are distributed across our large and decentralized campus to develop a comprehensive strategy. Its charge is to (1) work collaboratively with the various campus units and constituencies, including the Student Government Association; (2) review programs of education and prevention at peer institutions; and (3) propose ways to assess the effectiveness of these programs should they be instituted on our campus.

Submit your suggestions, ideas, and feedback below.

To hear directly from members of our community, the Joint Task Force will host an open forum on Thursday, November 17, 2016 from 3:30 pm to 5 pm at the Stamp Union, Prince George's room.

Thank you to Joint Task Force members for doing this important work. Their names are listed below.



Dr. Wallace Loh

Wallace D. Loh
President, University of Maryland, College Park


Sexual Assault Prevention Task Force Members


Steve Petkas, Joint Task Force Chair, Associate Director, Resident Life

Taylor Aguiar, Undergraduate Student, Physiology & Neurobiology; SGA

Amelia Arria, Associate Professor, Public Health

Catherine Carroll, OCRSM Director

Denzel Conyers, Undergraduate Student, American Studies

Corin Edwards, Associate Director, Fraternity & Sorority Life

Diane Krejsa, UMD Deputy Chief Counsel

Sophia Kuenzel, Undergraduate Student, Smith School of Business

David Lloyd, Coordinator, UMD Police Department​

Yvette Mann, Undergraduate Student, Bioengineering, ​Resident Assistant

Cheryl Plainte, UMD Director of Advancement Marketing

Mathew J.L. Shepard, Coordinator, Office of Student Conduct

Sue Sherburne, Senior Associate Athletics Director

Ann Smith, Assistant Dean, Undergraduate Studies

Omolola Taiwo, Graduate Student, Behavioral & Community Health

Fatima Taylor, Assistant Director, CARE to Stop Violence, UMD ​Health Center


Your Feedback Is Important

Please send your response anonymously, if preferred.